Attitude of Gratitude

You never know how strong you are until God takes you to a point where you feel like you won’t get up again. That is what I have learnt in the 25, almost 26 years of life. Now, I AM a strong God believer and I sometimes forget that I have to encounter a struggle in order for my faith to be tested.  I’ve been meaning to start this blog for ages but procrastination always gets the better of me and yes there are not enough hours in one day! But today something unspecial happened to me and that is what got me off the procrastination trail and here I am.

Today I want to talk about relationships with God. Many a time we take God for granted and expect him to deliver everything and anything that our heart desires. But in many a case we forget to actually connect and talk to God, we forget to grow and strengthen our relationship with our father. We are so busy chasing the over rated materialistic “joys” of life that we forget to take a step back, breathe, be still and listen. We focus our energies so much on things that aren’t meant for us, we give our all into things that aren’t built for us, only to crash and crumble when we realise that those things weren’t built for us but for someone else.

Now for the past two months I had my eye on something that I believed with all my heart was mine. Every day I prayed it and spoke it into being but all it took was a mere minute of reading one sentence that I learnt that it in fact wasn’t for me. Now you can imagine the amount of questions that could have went on in my head but all that came out of me was a heavy,sad, pathetic sigh, a huge gulp of ego punch down my throat and tears that I held back with all I had at that second.

But what shocked me is that all it took was a few seconds for me to thank God. No I wasn’t angry or disappointed in me. I was angry and disappointed in myself for overlooking God’s power and expecting him to show up when I didn’t even give him half my time. That wasn’t fair at all was it?

Anyway the moral of my story is connection and consultation. We really should not take advantage of God’s love, sacrifice and power. He is there. ALL the time, ever present but how often are we there and how often do we push him away for life’s pleasure?

 

Reflect and ponder on that til my next aha moment…

Leave a Reply

